Theravāda Buddhism first originated at the time of the Second Buddhist Council at Vesāli. That was the time when the whole body of Sangha divided into two sects: Thervāda and Māhasanghika. Theravada became the most orthodox Buddhist sect. In their view Buddha was a human being that was enlightened under the bodhi tree in Bodgaya. The whole teachings of the Buddha was recorded under three divisions: Vinaya piṭaka (Basket of rules), Sutta Piṭaka (Basket of discourses) and Abhidhamma Piṭaka (Basket of Higher Doctrine). These whole series of scriptures is known as ‘Pali Tipitaka’ - Pali denotes the language these scriptures are written. The Theravada tradition first flourished in Sri Lanka and later spread throughout South–East Asia. The lectures within this section shall provide an overview about Theravada Buddhism, introduce to the Pali Canon and literature and discuss important aspects and doctrines.